Nokta The Legend
Nokta Legend Battery Life and Specifications
Quick answer
Nokta publishes a 6700 mAh battery for the Legend 2, described as increasing runtime by up to 33 percent, and a 3250 mAh pack giving up to 12 hours on the Score series. A published capacity figure for the original Legend does not appear in its listing, so treat quoted hours with caution.
Battery figures are the easiest specification to find and the easiest to misunderstand. A manufacturer hour count is measured with the backlight off, wireless audio off and the machine in a low power state, which is not how anybody hunts. What you want to know is how many real sessions you get, and that depends on what you switch on.
Below are the figures Nokta actually publishes for these machines, separated from the figures people repeat. Where a number is not published, this page says so rather than inventing one, and the battery runtime calculator will let you work the real answer out from your own usage.
Top pick
Nokta The Legend Pro Pack
The Pro Pack remains the most capability per dollar in the multi frequency class, and it ships with two coils rather than one.
Price was accurate when this page was compiled and changes often.
What battery figures does Nokta actually publish?
This table separates published manufacturer figures from the gaps. A blank is more useful than a guess, because a guessed runtime is the kind of number that ends up quoted back as fact.
The Legend 2 is published at 6700 mAh with up to 33 percent more runtime, and the Score series at 3250 mAh for up to 12 hours of use, while no capacity figure appears in the original Legend listing.
| Machine | Published capacity | Published runtime | Weight | Charging |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nokta The Legend 2 | 6700 mAh | Up to 33 percent more than the previous generation | 2.6 lb, 1.2 kg | USB |
| Nokta The Legend | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing | USB |
| Nokta Double Score | 3250 mAh lithium polymer | Up to 12 hours | Not stated in the listing | USB charger or power bank |
| Nokta Triple Score | 3250 mAh lithium polymer | Up to 12 hours | 2.7 lb, 1.25 kg | USB charger or power bank |
| Nokta Simplex Ultra | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing | 2.6 lb, 1.2 kg | USB |
| Nokta Simplex Lite | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing | USB |
Figures are taken from each machine's published listing features. Where a cell says the figure is not stated, it was not present in the manufacturer listing used to build this catalogue, and the user manual is the place to confirm it.
What actually drains the battery on a hunt?
Four things, in rough order of appetite. Wireless audio runs a radio continuously and is usually the largest single draw beyond the detector itself. The backlight and display, particularly if you leave the screen lit in daylight out of habit. The built in light on machines that carry one, which is a genuine luxury at dusk and a genuine cost. Cold, which is not a setting but which reduces the capacity of any lithium pack, sometimes dramatically on a winter morning.
A manufacturer figure of twelve hours is therefore a realistic two long days or one long day with the radio and the light running. Plan for the pessimistic case, because a machine that dies at hour four on a permission you drove an hour to reach costs more than a power bank does.
How do the Legend and Legend 2 compare on paper?
These are the catalogue specifications for the two machines side by side. The fields shown are whatever each product publishes, which is itself informative: the newer machine documents more.
All three are simultaneous multi frequency machines in Nokta's current line, with the original Legend distinguished mainly by shipping as a Pro Pack with both a 6 inch and an 11 inch DD coil.
| Model | Price | Frequency type | Stock coil | Coil type | Material |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nokta The Legend Pro Pack | $659.00 | Simultaneous multi-frequency plus single frequencies | 11 and 6 | DD | - |
| Nokta The Legend 2 | $999.00 | Simultaneous multi-frequency | - | - | - |
| Nokta Simplex Ultra | $299.00 | - | 11 in | - | Carbon fibre shaft |
Figures are taken from each manufacturer's own published listing and specification sheet. A dash means the maker does not publish that figure for that model, not that the feature is absent.
What else is worth knowing about the build?
The Simplex Ultra is published as fully waterproof to 16 feet, 5 metres, with a fully carbon fibre shaft that retracts to 25 inches, 63 centimetres, and a weight of 2.6 pounds, 1.2 kilograms. Nokta also states plainly that Bluetooth headphones are not included in that package, which is the sort of detail worth reading before you order.
Both Score machines are published as IP68 rated and submersible to 16 feet, 5 metres, with online firmware updates over USB. The Legend 2 goes further and offers wireless firmware updating as well as wired. Full ratings for every model sit on the waterproof depth page, and if you are weighing a coil purchase against a machine purchase, the coil chart is the cheaper place to start.
How we chose
We did not test these machines in person and we publish no find claims. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, published listing features, waterproof ratings and warranty terms, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favour the established detector brands because coils, shafts and control boxes have to stay available years after a model is discontinued, and we place every pick in the tier where its price and capability honestly belong.
Sources
- Nokta The Legend 2 published product listing features
- Nokta Double Score and Triple Score published listing features
- Nokta Simplex Ultra published listing features
- Nokta The Legend user manual, power and charging sections
Frequently asked questions
How long does the Nokta Legend battery last?
Nokta does not state a runtime figure in the product listing for the original Legend, so any specific hour count you see quoted should be checked against the user manual for your firmware. For comparison, the company publishes up to 12 hours for the 3250 mAh Score series and describes the Legend 2's 6700 mAh pack as increasing runtime by up to 33 percent. Real world hours fall well below laboratory figures once wireless audio is running.
Does the Legend 2 really last a third longer?
That is what the listing claims, describing a 6700 mAh battery increasing runtime by up to 33 percent. Read it as a comparison against the previous generation under the manufacturer's own conditions rather than a promise about your hunting day. A larger cell does genuinely mean more hours in the field, but wireless headphones, the backlight and cold weather all consume that margin faster than most people expect.
Can I replace the battery in a Nokta detector myself?
These are sealed waterproof machines, and the seal is the reason they survive being submerged. Opening the housing to reach the cell risks the waterproof rating that you paid for, and on a machine rated to 16 feet that rating is the main feature. Battery service is a job for the manufacturer or an authorised service agent. Carry a USB power bank instead, which is the supported way to extend a day.
Does wireless audio shorten runtime much?
Noticeably. A wireless link runs a radio continuously for the whole session, and it is usually the largest optional draw on the machine. If you are rationing a charge on a long day, wired headphones are the cheapest hour you can buy back. Our battery runtime calculator lets you model your own combination of wireless audio, backlight and session length rather than relying on a headline figure.
How much does the Legend weigh?
The original Legend listing used to build this catalogue does not state a weight, so we do not print one. Nokta publishes 2.6 pounds, 1.2 kilograms for both the Legend 2 and the Simplex Ultra, and 2.7 pounds, 1.25 kilograms for the Triple Score. All are light enough that coil choice, not the control box, is what decides how your arm feels at hour five.
Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Target ID numbers, depth figures and settings vary with soil chemistry, moisture, target size, depth, orientation and firmware version, so treat every figure here as a starting point and verify it against your own machine's manual and your own ground. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.